Saturday, September 16, 2006

We are Under Way

September 16th, 2006 posted by kendall at 11:07 am

223 Lay deputies are present and 71 churches are represented.

106 clergy deputies are present and able to vote.

The Convention secretary, Michael Ridgill, read the resolution from the diocese of the Reformed Episcopal Church. There was applause.

Father Dow Sanderson, chair of the Standing Committee, read out the names of the three final nominees.

At the suggestion of Michael Lumpkin we paused for a moment of prayer.

The clergy are being called out on a roll call and voting by handing in their ballots to the ballot collectors.

Keep in mind that parishes must vote as a block, that is, they get a single vote which must be cast by four people and thus there must be at least three people within that delegation who vote for a particular individual in order for them to cast a positive vote for a nominee. If the vote is two-two among a parish’s delegates that is counted as a no vote.

Missions are given 1/2 a vote and the two voties delegates must therefore agree in order to vote.

11:24 a.m.–the clergy are finished voting and the parishes are now being called.


Post a Comment

<< Home